Call us on 01688 400682

Old School House Reviews

50 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The most amazing cottage and location I have had the pleasure of staying in. Spotlessly clean and so homely too. The location for wildlife watching is second to non. Otters daily, white tailed eagles, golden eagles, passing osprey and deer all seen almost daily. I also managed to capture the ‘northern lights’ on my first evening here too, another first for me. A truly magical place and I can’t wait to return. Already booked for next year!

    By Debs Parkinson stayed in May 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Good location for wildlife watching but maybe too remote for seeing the wider island. Cottage quaint but was not as clean as we would have expected, particularly the kitchen, eg chopping boards, crockery. Also strong pet urine smell. Very unpleasant. Cottage currently has a boil requirement on the water supply. This was a bit of a pain but bottled water was available. Bedrooms and bathrooms were fine but no locks on doors! Downstairs loo not so clean. Bedroom above kitchen is a mezzanine.

    By Bob Odle and party stayed in May 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were lucky enough to book this property and had the most fabulous week. The weather was very kind to us so we were out and about all week. We have been holidaying on Mull for the last 3 years but this is by far the best property we have stayed in.
    This is mainly down to the location. The house itself is lovely, roomy and warm especially for 2 people.
    If you want to enjoy the great outdoors and the wonderful wildlife on your doorstop then this is the place to stay.
    Yes the water situation is annoying but the property more than makes up for it.

    By Wendy Taylor stayed in April 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It was a lovely location for the Wildlife. We sort an Otter most days. With Whitetail Eagles soaring over head was great.
    Please be aware that you are unable to use the water, so this means you have to use bottle water, which in turn is bad for the environment. With the sign in the house this seems to be a regular occurrence.

    By Claire Stubbs stayed in April 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First time staying at School House.
    Great cottage and best location for wildlife my husband loved seeing otters almost everyday.
    We both love Mull and booked to return to Old School House again. Such a peaceful location and was a great time of year to enjoy Mull.

    By Mrs claire melville stayed in November 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Hmm. We first came in 2016 and, apart from a missed year due to renovations, have been back every November since. We just love this place , it is like a second home. Time to recharge the batteries, go fishing, do some painting.... Light the wood burner and read a book! The new kitchen floor is beautiful, much as I loved the old creaky uneven one. 6 pollocks caught and I saw another otter. Result!

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable cottage and the location makes it unbeatable if you want to see wildlife.

    By Mark Hill stayed in September 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A stunning location on Loch Spelve with wildlife literally on your doorstep. We saw otters, seals and red deer as well as herons and oyster catchers. The local cows and sheep were friendly and wander freely along the foreshore. A comfortable and spacious cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommended and we would love to return.

    By Karen Young stayed in September 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfy house in a magical setting. Loch Spelve is so peaceful - we saw otters pretty much every day and enjoyed kayaking and local walks with our dog.
    Croggan is a 1-hour drive from Salen and Tobermory (the nearest options for stocking up on supplies) but for us the tranquility of the location is so worth it.
    The house itself is well equipped, comfortable and has plenty of character. The water supply failed a council test so we were forced to rely on bottled water for our stay which was very inconvenient, but did not detract from an amazing holiday. We're planning our next visit already!

    By Rob Pearson stayed in August 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect place to get away from city life.
    Peaceful and calm. We loved the location of the property and being so close to the abundant wildlife surrounding it.
    Our dog Issie loved the garden area.
    The house is rustic and has an old world charm about it.
    It would be lovely to have deckchair style chairs alongside the picnic bench.
    If peace and quiet is what you're after - this is it

    By Susan Curnin stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is our second stay at the Old School House surrounded by a truly magical place , the house is well equipped, comfortable and full of character..the new central heating kept us cosy and we loved the new luxury bathroom. We have had a peaceful week , beautiful weather, amazing wildlife and walks , we couldn’t have asked for more. Isle of Mull Cottages are also a great company to deal with .

    By Virginia Stoked stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    5th visit to The School House, so I suppose that says something!!! We just love this charming cottage, and the new bathroom, central heating and very attractive fence and gate have taken it to another level. I finally saw not one, not two, but a group of 3 otters!!! I thought they were a figment of my husband's imagination. He caught 2 pollocks and 2 sea bass. The pollock was delicious!

    By caroline taylor stayed in October 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wow what a wonderful location. Saw otters every day plus great for cycling, kayaks and walks.
    Old School House is charming and quirky. 2 bedrooms but both double beds so not ideal for a family unless kids want to share a bed.
    Will definitely like to return in the near future.

    By Vick Fuller stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had an amazing stay. The location is truly wonderful and we had sunsets and sunrises and the most fantatsic wildlife sightings.
    The beds were comfy and the shower was great.
    Downstairs the house was well equipped. My suggestion would be that there could be two more comfy armchairs.

    By Samantha KIDD stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Old School House is in the most amazing location with the most fantastic views. We were fortunate to have great weather so spent much of our time on beaches nearby fishing and paddleboarding. We saw otters, seals and eagles. The house had everything we needed (the shower is fantastic) and was comfortable and clean. The locals were friendly and keen to share their knowledge of the area which was very helpful. The only improvements I can suggest would be the provision of a couple of deck chairs and the completion of the fence round the property to keep livestock out and our dog in!

    By Barbara Screen stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Old School House was amazing, extremely comfortable and situated in such a beautiful, tranquil location with regular visits in the loch from an otter and seals. We did some lovely walks and also great for cycling as the roads were so quiet. Plenty of wildlife to see including white tailed eagles and hen harriers. We did a boat trip with Staffa Tours from Tobermory which we would highly recommend - saw lots of puffins and on the way back some dolphins swam next to the boat which was a real bonus!

    By Tina & Stuart Reading stayed in May 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We just had the most relaxing week at the old school house, location is perfect although miles away from no where, nearest shop 30 mins away on tight windy roads.
    We saw otters, seals and eagles everyday. My 2 boys aged 7 and 9 loved it too as they had so much freedom there.
    The house is brilliant, although my boys didn't like the fact the bedrooms were so far away from each other. Lovely bathroom upstairs with excellent shower and bath.
    Would highly reccomend a stay at the school house if you want a totally relaxing break.

    By Sam mcewan stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved Old School House and the tranquility of Loch Spelve. It's a charming house in an idyllic spot and we wanted for nothing. The house is clean, comfortable and well equipped, with a fantastic shower! We saw otters, eagles and seals, sampled the local mussels and enjoyed the local walks. We had some fantastic boat trips too and hope to re-book for next year.

    By Shelley Armson stayed in April 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Location is stunning and utterly peaceful. Saw sea eagles daily but no otters, obviously not guaranteed. The house on the plus side, comfortable upstairs and one of bathrooms very modern and fab shower and separate bath. Plenty of hot water. Cons- Downstairs very uncomfortable, tatty old hard furniture and multiple trip hazards in kitchen with mats laid on mats. Kitchen floor not good looks very grubby. Cobwebs everywhere downstairs. Shame, loved Croggan but the house needs attention downstairs. Get stocked up as nearest proper shop is 14 miles away on single track roads.

    By E Howard stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful house in a beautiful location. Warm and cosy, lots of equipment in the kitchen, comfy bedrooms, good modern bathroom. Otters spotted every day on the loch, often by just looking out of the windows. Fish eagles over the hills on the opposite side of the loch. Quite a few otter spotters as well, in camper vans and 4 x 4s, with giant cameras, but there is enough space for everyone. Beautiful work down the track to Porterfield, through amazing Atlantic oak woodland. Hard to fault it.

    By Steve Fearnley stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    In our opinion, Croggan is one of the most beautiful places on Mull with spectacular views. It was great for our kayaks, and we saw Otters every day. The Old School House is full of character, very well equipped and comfortable. However, probably because Mull was so busy this year, the area next to the house turned into car park during our stay. We also had camper vans staying over night. If you are easy going this might not bother you, but if your like me and want complete peace and quiet it might spoil your holiday, it did mine. Book during quieter months.

    By Nadine Bate stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our second visit to the Old School house and we had a perfect stay . The location is stunning and there is so much wildlife . It was the first time we had visited in the Autumn, the loch was beautiful with the Autumn colours , even in the rain . We had such a relaxing time walking and watching the wildlife a lot of time from the house ,along the track to Portfield beach and along the loch . Enjoyed tea and cake at the new Old Post Office , Lochbuie . It was so nice to come back to the cottage which was warm and comfortable with those views over the loch . We hope to return .

    By Lisa and Clive Whatley stayed in October 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our 4th visit, we can't keep away and are already looking forward to next year!! My husband caught some sea bass and saw otters, we both saw dolphins in the bay at Lochbuie on our last day while picnicking on the beach! The weather was glorious while the rest of the UK was under water...! I painted and cooked the bass; a perfect pre-Christmas break.

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Old Schoolhouse was a real find, so much so that we have booked to return next year. The views and walks right on the doorstep are beautiful. We saw sea otters most days. The drive back to the main road around the loch is around 25 minutes, but is lovely and adds to the charm and peace and quiet of the location when you arrive. The cottage itself is full of history and very comfortable. An idyllic setting.

    By Betsy Lamberton stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely amazing cottage, well equipped and spacious with wonderful views. Walking and wildlife from the door it is a little gem. We are devastated it is already booked up for next year. We will definitely be returning in 2021. Had viewings of otters, golden eagles, red deer and white tailed eagles from the doorstep. This cottage is a fabulous find.

    By DAVEY stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved the Old Schoolhouse...rustic charm with a sense of history, in a stunning location full of wildlife. We saw otters, golden eagles and so many different birds as well as deer. The walks from the door are rewarding and so scenic. It is a half hour drive back to the main road ...but that’s what made it such a special tranquil spot. We visited the puffins on Lunga (Treshnish Isles) from Fionnphort - well worth doing, it was amazing! And you can hop off at Staffa and Iona too.

    By Ginny Wenban stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Idyllic. Loads of wildlife - otters, eagles, herons, buzzards, noisy cuckoo and peacock! One evening I was reeling in a sea trout (which I put back) and a white tailed sea eagle flew over my head. The kids moaned about the lack of wi-fi but were soon happy enough reading, painting, fishing and playing board games. The Mull shopkeepers won't thank me for this but save yourselves a load of cash by stocking up at Lidl or Aldi at Oban before you board the ferry.

    By The spencers stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful cottage in an amazing location, peaceful and surrounded by wildlife.

    By Ginny Stokes stayed in September 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a wonderful stay at The Old School House! The property is full of charm, clean, comfortable & well equipped. I love this quiet corner of Mull with its stunning scenery & abundant wildlife & hope to return before too long.

    By Sara stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    First visit to Mull, so lucky with the incredible weather. Struggled a little with the single track road to Croggan, but had brought in a week's worth of supplies anyway (from Tobermory Co-op, very well stocked) as didn't want to waste time shopping.
    The Old School House is as described - plenty of room, very characterful. Very large fridge, which was appreciated. We used the ensuite room above the kitchen, and found the spiral staircase ok, but I imagine it could be a bit tight or tricky for some. The setting is as idyllic as all the other review say! The photos don't really do the location justice. Completely remote and peaceful, wildlife out of every window. Very sad to leave.

    By Gillian & Jonathan stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just home from a wonderful stay at The Old School House.
    The fact that some of our week was wet did not matter in the slightest, the views remained stunning. Wildlife everywhere you looked, total lack of people and cars etc. no internet....! and poor phone signal, so had no choice but to relax, unwind, and chill. Exactly what we hoped for. Highly recommended.

    By Oliver Ingram stayed in May 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first visit to Mull. We couldn’t have wished for a more idyllic setting. Really well equipped house, especially the kitchen. Tons of hot water for baths. Good water pressure in the shower. Good washer and dryer. No WiFi signal which was brilliant. And only occasional, weak phone signal. Loved it. If you want to fall out of this crazy world for a while you will not go wrong with the School House.

    By Steve Griffith stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our 2nd time on Mull and we love it, the wildlife, landscape and tranquility. This cottage is awesome, we loved it, spacious, well equipped and warm.

    By Alan & Georgina stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We came back! This place is addictive; better than any fancy spa hotel or whatever for recharging the batteries. So peaceful and comfortable..we did manage to tear ourselves away for a spot of Christmas shopping in Tobermory, but only for a couple of hours!

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great place to stay, of course there are small problems that you can pick on but you have to accept it is a very old house if you want all mod cons it is not for you. fantastic views great for wildlife .great to come back to this cosy house. Biggest problem was the cows in the front garden leaving a real mess we will be going. Back for our 3rd visit

    By Linda Carr stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a wonderful cottage. Lovely and cosy to return to after walks along the coast. Wildlife amazing, went home with the best pictures of an otter yet! Problem with back door, but soon sorted by John and Cathy, who also brought us fresh duck and hen eggs. The great weather completed the holiday. Our fifth cottage on Mull and best yet. Thank you.

    By Dave and Lesley Roberts stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage, beautiful setting. In spite of a damp week, apart from the last two days which were glorious, we managed to walk every day. Before breakfast on our second morning we saw an otter fishing, a golden eagle and a sparrow hawk. Not to mention the deer and rabbits round the cottage morning and evening etc etc! The dog was puzzled and a bit scared of the lambs who were not a bit scared of him! The walk to Portfield Beach is delightful and the view over the loch in the changing weather and light was amazing. We wanted remote and that's what we got.

    By Lynn Barrett stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful holiday . The location of the cottage was perfect for watching the wildlife and the changing view of the loch . We saw so much wildlife both from the cottage and along the beautiful walk to portfield beach . The house was very warm and cosy to come back to . Croggan is so peaceful and a haven for wildlife. Many thanks to John and Kathy who live nearby and sorted a problem with the washing machine.we even saw the northern lights on our last night .

    By Lisa and Clive whatley stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wonderfully quirky, comfortable little house in a superb location. I am an artist and my husband a cyclist so everyone was happy, including the dog. We will be back!

    By caroline taylor stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing cottage, stunning location! The wildlife that you could see in the surrounding area was just perfect.
    The views reflections and colours in the area made it a magical trip that we will never forget!
    Thank you

    By Barnett vincent stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    a fantastic location and so well equipped , an amazing view across the loch, wildlife every way you look

    By linda carr stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location of the cottage is wonderful. It's beautiful and magic.
    However this house is not a good holidays house. It's dark and cold. And don't even think to get a decent shower or bath. The bathrooms have not been renovated for ages.

    By Guisset-Grandin stayed in July 2016

    Editor's Note: Thanks for your comments. There was a problem with the water supply which the owner's weren't informed of during your stay (blocked filter) - had they been informed, that could have been fixed for you. There was a new shower cubicle installed in the one of the bathrooms this year.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fabulous weather w/c 12th May made our stay here even better. I have visited the area from Craig Benn House many times and always wanted to book this cottage so had to book a year in advance as rightly so it is very popular. For total peace and tranquility you cannot beat this area. Wildlife literally on your doorstep. White tailed sea eagle nesting in the tree opposite the house across the sea and otters all along the shore - best place to see them up close is just near the old pier. We took our canoe which was great to launch from the beach especially in the early evenings with the sun glistening on the water and wildlife coming out to greet you. Idyllic!! One major gripe is the bench in the kitchen - because your peripheral vision sees the width of the bench you miss the fact that the legs are proud of this and everybody in our party constantly stubbed their toes on it as we tended to congregate in the kitchen and did not use the dining room. Smaller gripes - There is a lot of unusable kitchen items in the dresser which could be removed to make more space and cooking pans need lids that fit for those who like to cook. Also quite a lot of cobwebs. All of this is bearable because of the wonderful location though. Highly recommend this property.

    By Helen stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Croggan is a real haven of tranquility. We were lucky enough to have glorious weather all week with beautiful sunrises and sunsets reflected on the Loch. Even saw the aurora borealis which was a bonus. Plenty of wildlife to see from Croggan or on the short walk to the headland...otters, red deer, mountain goats, porpoise in the bay, sea eagles, golden eagles and hen harrier on an almost daily basis. A great place to stay and the cottage was wonderfully warm and cosy

    By Jane Cottell stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Excellent location with direct access to the loch shore...sea eagles and otters seen almost every day! Well equipped cottage and comfortable beds (now king-size we were pleased to note). Our third visit and it will not be our last.

    By Richard Smith stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect location for wildlife and quiet. Exceptionally well equipped and large kitchen made for sociable cooking and eating. Clean and comfortable. Views were stunning and we saw otters and seals from the house and an adder on the hills behind.

    By Jackie Ward stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautiful holiday and lovely accommodation. Would highly recommended this cottage. Tranquility and wildlife in abundance. Would definitely go again! Thankyou!

    By carol Hawley stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a wonderful time in this enchanting and well looked-after cottage, and absolutely enjoyed the stunning surroundings. You cannot imagine the peace, beauty and perfect tranquility of the place until you have been there. We watched otters and seals from the kitchen window, and also spotted the occasional sheep :)
    The house was perfectly clean, all household gear in order and the beds very comfy. Strong recommendation !

    By Benjamin stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    I cannot praise this wonderful serene tranquil and perfectly set cottage with its fully furnished facilities to make our weeks break one of the most memorable experiences in many years. The location means we were surrounded by wild life, to include Deer Otters and all manner of bird life while enjoying the loch in front and the backdrop of the mountains. Sunrises and sunsets were just perfect. the track leads to even more hidden treasures for the explorer. The location is not for the disco - night club or regular party person as it offers a complete escape from the pressures of life to leave one feeling totally relaxed and at home.

    By Allan Ainsworth stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Not exactly an upto date review - more of a comment to owners! 20 years ago, just before we were married, my husband and I spent a magical holiday at your school house. You were part way through renovations, which didn't bother us one bit. Shortly after getting married we moved to the USA, where we have lived ever since. Every year we visit family in the UK and this year, we have decided that we will do something a little selfish - revisit Mull, a place that we both fell in love with before we met. So this year we will be hoping that our two teenage daughters feel something of the pull that is motivating us! Of course, we remembered the old school house and today I found it! Of course the cottage is fully booked, but I wanted to let you know how wonderful it looks now all the renovations are complete, and what very happy memories the photographs rekindled. I am so happy that so many people appreciate it - just as we did. Sorry - couldn't think of any other way to pass this message on and just felt the need!

    By Clare Harrison stayed in July 2013

Add your review