Call us on 01688 400682

Cuan Choluim Chille Reviews

33 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A very comfortable and well-equipped house in a beautiful, quiet location. The large picture windows give superb views across Loch Tuath to Ulva, Gometra and the Treshnish Islands. Lots of local opportunities for spotting wildlife.

    By John and Elaine Titchmarsh stayed in May 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A great place to stay, well equipped, beds comfy, a very warm bungalow ,.lovely views overlooking Island of Ulva .
    Our fifth time on Mull, we saw white tailed sea eagles, plenty of otters , red and fallow deer. We have been on boat trips before and really recommend going to staff and lungs for puffins also loch na Keal , and Coggan for otters , sit for a while and have a cup of tea and be patient.
    The blue bells and rhododendrons were spectacular and a reflection was lovely on the lochs.

    By Paula,Bob and Audrey stayed in May 2024

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our first trip to Mull - we rated highly Isle of Mull Cottages and enjoyed our stay at Cuan. A happy place beautifully kitted out with everything needed for a holiday. Amazing wildlife seen from Cuan. Idyllic days out on Staffa, Lunga and Ulva then return to Cuan with its comfortable beds and amazing views from all rooms.

    By Paula from Perth stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have spent holidays in cottages in both Scotland and England before but my word this is the best in terms of location, views and facilities. Changing views each day, sitting out and relaxing in the garden in these wonderful surroundings is thoroughly recommended. Great base to use to visit other parts of Mull; recommend Port na Bar and a trip to Staffa. Saw white tail eagles, golden eagle, deer and otter albeit not from the cottage. Recommend the cafe at Glengorm castle.

    By Edward Street stayed in July 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ab Fab this house and the surroundings. Very comfortable and well equipped. Enjoyed the view, the silence and the friendly cows. There was a heatwave with up to 30 F° and the house tends to warm up under these circumstances. Will soon need airco or at least a good fan.
    Krist & Kris, Belgium

    By krist debruyn stayed in June 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely fabulous. Cuan was well equipped and had glorious views. Will definitely be back to Mull

    By Lorraine Stevenson stayed in April 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Loved our week on Mull. Such a great house to stay in. It was very comfortable, well equipped and the view was amazing. We had everything we needed and enjoyed the log burner. A lovely peaceful place to stay. Mull is beautiful and the accommodation was perfect.

    By Janet James stayed in March 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great views, well equipped. A lovely part of the island. Glad it was off-peak as the single track roads could be a bit too busy. Otters seen beyond Calgary beach. Plenty of logs supplied and electric radiators.

    By Trevor and Jane stayed in February 2023

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great place for wildlife spotting! Beautiful views and a very comfortable, well equipped cottage.

    By Sue and Edward Edmonds stayed in September 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location. Stylish house. All clean.
    Good contact with the hosts. Highly recommended.

    By Hartmut stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Super cottage. I agree with all the comments below regarding it and the wildlife to be encountered there.
    Very impressed with the info provided by the owners re how to operate appliances, heating etc. With all the heating + the wood burner it is ideal for cold weather. Huge supply of logs. Love the place.

    By Paul and Deborah Bellwood stayed in August 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage we have been here for three weeks. The whole area is beautiful with some great restaurants and plenty of trips to go on.

    By Roger and Jane stayed in June 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great cottage for father and son wildlife viewing holiday, great view from the huge windows with eagle flyby most days.
    If you are tall I.e. 6ft plus beware the extractor hood over the hob, it is very easy to bang your head when looking at what's cooking.
    Recommend the wildlife boat trip from Ulva ferry for great views of sea eagles swooping on fish thrown in by the crew. Be aware the track up from the road is very rough in places.
    Great place for a holiday

    By Richard and Paul stayed in March 2022

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a place! From the minute we stepped foot in Cuan we felt completely at home. We arrived in the dark to a lit, cosy warm cottage complete with xmas tree! The views were amazing and I have to say the photos do not do the place justice. We enjoyed a lovely week braving the wild weather walking directly from the property as mentioned in the house guide to looking forward to getting back "home" to Cuan to relax , which is something that was very easy to do here. Cuan ticks every box and we cannot wait to visit again!

    By Joe and Sarah stayed in December 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We're just back from a week staying at Cuan Choluim Chille with my Mum. The cottage was perfect for us - comfortable, very well equipped, all on one level and with glorious views. We particularly liked entering through the utility room so that we could take off our muddy boots before entering the rest of the house. It was a great base from which to explore the northwest of Mull. Mum says it is the best holiday cottage she has ever stayed in - high praise indeed.

    By Charlotte and John stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What an amazing view! No need for TV you can watch the moods of Mull. Fantastic base to explore the island. Will make booking next year tricky to beat this!

    By Linda and Nick stayed in September 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just a wonderful place to stay. We never got tired of the view (who would?!). It was a beautiful, peaceful place. Well equipped + very comfortable.
    Well placed for going to lovely spots along the coast - we kayaked in Calgary Bay, at Ulva ferry and Salen Bay. Lots of wildlife on our trips out. The trip on Turus Mara to Staffa is recommended - we were very lucky, the weather was amazing and the dolphins spectacular.
    The cottage is a great place to stay, very clean and organised.

    By Judy Fitzsimons and Jenny Joy stayed in August 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a superb property, well equipped and good quality. The views and wildlife, as others have described, are incredible. We did not want to leave, and are planning to come back ! Have to say that the double bed was not up to the quality of the rest of the house; it collapsed two days in because of loose slats. I mentioned this and the lack of salt & pepper in the SurveyMonkey questionnaire (it’s a long way to go to get these basics, had wrongly assumed that cruet would be provided - luckily the Hen Hose just down the road came to the rescue !). A tea pot and tea cups would also be good !

    By Katherine and John stayed in July 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Just finished a great week at this comfortable and well equipped cottage. The views are wonderful and Mull is fantastic. Lovely to see everything opening up again!

    By Ian and Claire stayed in May 2021

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. Superb views across to Ulva, Gometra, Treshnish & Staffa. The cottage was exceptionally clean and well equipped. There is so much wildlife on the doorstep here. Eagles, seals, deer, buzzard, lots of garden birds (especially if you fill the bird feeders). This place felt like home as soon as we arrived and we certainly did not want to leave. We have rebooked already! Highly recommended.

    By Carolyn & John stayed in September 2020

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic stay with our children, wonderful views, amazing fire and extremely well equipped house.
    The children loved the garden and swing, plenty of space to roam and make friends with the sheep!
    Loved our stay, we highly recommend!

    By Rachel stayed in October 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great cottage, fantastic views ,wildlife not bad either with tawny owl, golden eagle, rabbits, hedgehog, bats deer all seen thru front window plus lots more birds .Well worth a stay.

    By DAVID FLEET stayed in September 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Without a doubt , this is the finest holiday cottage we have stayed in. So much thought and generosity has gone into building and fitting out the house making everything easy and comfortable. We stayed local as with so much to see and explore right on the doorstep we didn't feel the need to drive too much. We saw sea eagles from the living room and deer just down the road . This is the quieter side of the island and it's just beautiful to look at the view and feel so far from mainland stresses. Cuan is a real retreat and we found it very hard to leave at the end of the week.

    By Hannah stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic location and amazing views. The cottage was well equipped and a lovely place to spend the week. Lots of walks close by and lots of wildlife. Highly recommend

    By Kerri and Richard Grant stayed in August 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    No sense of compromise or having to make do here - this is an extremely comfortable and well equipped house which feels like home as soon as you walk through the door, and comprehensive instructions are provided for all amenities. Access to property is via miles of single track roads in either direction with passing places some of which aren't sympathetic to low-slung vehicles - but it's worth the risk!

    By Nick and Heather stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderful place to stay. the house has everything you can wish for, fully equipped with cupboards very well organized. It makes you feel like home.
    The views are amazing, the birdlife in the garden is very entertaining.
    The owner David provided us with full support when we contacted him with a question.
    The directions to the house were clear and complete.
    We recommend a walk to Traihg na Cille, the black beach. It is beautiful and the water is quite warm. And...no (other) tourists down there.
    All in all a very recommendable cottage.

    By Loek and Marianne stayed in July 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great views and we were very lucky with the weather, only a few wet days. Cottage just as described a great place for a holiday.Plenty to see and do, would recommend a visit to Ulva, and some lovely restaurants in the area.

    By Roger and Jane Pearce stayed in June 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely place to stay! Perfect for a couple and two children; or a couple and two adults who don’t mind single beds in a shared room.. five minutes walk to the beach (where we saw an otter!). Five minutes walk in the other direction and you’re in the hills (where we saw a pair of Hen Harriers). Cottage itself contained everything we needed, was extremely comfortable and all rooms had lovely views. We’ll be back!

    By Reza Moradi stayed in April 2019

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Agree about the view.
    Property well equipped and comfortable.
    Drainage very poor and shower can over run and toilets stop flushing. Approach not suitable for people with mobility issues - even slight to moderate.

    By Johanne Ross stayed in March 2019

    Editor's Note: Thank you for your feedback. In response, we did reply to your email prior to arrival and explained the approach to the house exactly. The owner was only notified of the problem with the drainage a day after the issue arose and could have fixed that for you, had you advised them earlier.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage and its location was perfect in every way .The absolutely stunning 180 degree panoramic view from all front windows of the property was breathtaking, the whole skyline took in 8 Islands and outdoors a peak to our left we could see the majestic mountain of Ben More.So many beautiful places to visit and so much nature to enjoy.A truly most memorable holiday.

    By Bob & Mary Birkett stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Stunning views. So relaxing to be able to sit and admire the spectacular scenery. Extremely well stocked property. Very friendly sheep!

    By Kate and Steve stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Super place to stay over looking Loch Tuath and out to the Atlantic. Extremely good instructions how to get in and get everything working. We never closed the blinds...the house is not overlooked and we needed to see the views day and night...full moon and stars. Several walks nearby including trip to Ulva. ballygown restaurant is a must...home cooked food and we saw An otter off their rocky shore at noon one day...you can pre order home made bread from there and also get delicious sausage rolls and cakes at the end of the drive in the Hen House cafe.

    By Helen and Paul stayed in April 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Beautifully fitted cottage in superb position with extensive sea views from living / dining areas and both bedrooms to Ulva, Gometra, Staffa, Treshnish Isles and Tiree. Hill walking immediately behind the cottage in remote area where you are unlikely to meet anyone. Easy walk down track to pier at Port Rainich, which you will probably have to yourself. On those days when the weather keeps you indoors, sit by the woodburner with a single malt and watch the ever changing view through the large windows.

    By David stayed in December 2017

Add your review